Work and mindsets

Sometimes I get upset at my parents for wanting me to study extra apart from my homework, if time permitting, each night. But once I’ve calmed down, I realize that it’s just for my benefit, so that I may absorb more and learn more from/about my subjects.

In Carol Dweck’s “Mindset”, she talks about how students often judge each by the amount of work, or lack thereof that they put into studying daily. She points out that in the fixed mindset, the so-called “naturally talented” students, can ace the course without any work. These students, and others around them, then believe that being smart means working less. This in turn hinders their learning because they aren’t reviewing or developing solid study habits, which is a skill within itself.
However, Dweck says that the growth mindset students look at studying, work, homework etc. as an opportunity to become better and hone/improve their knowledge/skills. This, in my mind, is the approach that students should take towards school work and learning. Though I’m not asking, nor am I expecting, students to like or enjoy homework, I just feel like they should be aware of the value it has.

— the fixed and growth mindsets are explained in detail in “Mindset”. I’m sorry if anyone feels like I didn’t explain that fully, however that was not the point of this post. 🙂 please feel free to comment with any questions.

Leave a Reply

