Reflecting on Goals

Today my friend and I were having a conversation about our general goals for the year, and it really got me thinking. Yes, I know goals are the guideposts on the path to success, but I usually don’t have very lofty ones, so I haven’t fully unlocked the potential of a goal. Essentially, ones goals should be high but not impossible, and accompanied by the steps needed for achievement. This is something I feel I could improve upon, so I decided to act upon my recent conversation.

My goals as of now are to blog daily, run at least three times a week, get a speaker award and/or a tournament in debate, and move up a group in tennis. Additionally, I aim to receive straight A’s and get at least 8-10 hours of sleep daily.

Take the first goal, blogging daily. I set this goal a month or so ago and acknowledge that it was pretty lofty. So far, I’ve stuck by it pretty faithfully, wavering occasionally and sometimes resetting the bar at every other day. I’ve realized that by forcing myself to bog everyday, I was sounding repetitive and risking sounding dull (merely citing facts I learned). So goals can change.

When it comes to the second goal of running at least 3 times a week, the bar has already been moved. My original hope was for a daily work out, but the first wave of high school late nights deterred me. Now that I’ve adjusted properly, I need to work back up. Ironically, last year I only started running second semester and I’m beginning to see why. Nevertheless, this is something that I ought to be able to accomplish easily and hope to do so in the near future.

As for the other goals, I can generically say that hard work and practice will get me there. I know what it takes, I just need to focus and do it. To me, goals are a lot about reassessing what you know you need to do, in order to refuel yourself with the energy needed to accomplish the task.

5 thoughts on “Reflecting on Goals

  1. I would argue some of your goals, like running every 3x/wk are about the journey; these are the things you must do to stay healthy. How could you create process oriented goals for things like getting straight A’s? There’s some research that process oriented goals lead to greater success than outcome oriented ones. Also, check out this article Why Talent is Overrated.

    • Hmm… This is well overdue but here are my thoughts:
      For straight A’s, studying approximately 1.5 hrs a day would help. To be even more specific, that studying should consist of reading the text, reviewing notes and doing practice problems/engaging with material.

      For both my debate and tennis goals, practice is key. Speed and clarity reading drills as well as practicing my serves and generating racket head speed will help me on this path.

      • Awesome work breaking these extrinsic goals down into short term things you can do every day. I assume you now follow the 3NR—there are some great archives back there about how to really make your practice time incredibly useful—this one is pure gold.

        Likewise, for studying, you should be reading Study Hacks (a hour spent in the archives of this blog can yield tremendous benefits), and I would also highly recommend Cal Newport’s book, How to Become a Straight A Student.

Leave a Reply

