Water…slowly dripping away

My grandmother said some wise words to me today. “You can make money, but you can’t make water.” She said “water is not in our hands, it’s in natures.”

“Well,” said I, “then we better treat mother nature right.”

This exchange struck me as simple yet profound. Even with all the riches in the world, a billionaire still needs water.

If we don’t pay close attention and treat nature right, we could be screwed. Imagine a world, where we have to heat our air to get enough water to sustain life. But even that is iffy. Imagine a life without water. You can’t, because it doesn’t exist.

To me, my grandmothers words were like an eye opener. For years I’ve heard the speeches and read the articles about water shortages, and resource wars but haven’t payed much attention. But now, I’m listening. Mother nature I’m on your side for good.

But that said, my grandmother later came back to me and told me- “Don’t be a miser either.” It does no good to cheat yourself while preserving nature. Water has to be consumed and utilized. We just need to be conscious about how we use it. In the world of nature, a little goes a long way. Even one drop could tip the scale. Imagine that it was the last drop of water on earth. What would you do? How far would you go to get it, save it, and exploit it to do as much as it could?

Leave a Reply

