3, 2, 1…..

As the school year draws to a close (my last exam is in a few minutes), I thought I’d share what all I’ve learned this year, in my first year of High School. Ironic isn’t it, how I answered the same question for the blogging initiative edu180atl on my first actual day of freshman year. So much has happened since then.

I’ve taken a peek behind the curtains and seen the wizard in its smaller but true glory. I’ve learned that everything once had a start, that all big ideas had to have started small. That once you dismantle the illusion of the name, prestigion suddenly becomes attainable. Without the name and the connotation attached to it, places like the Huffington Post become just another website with staff who once started out just like me.

I’ve learned to listen when people speak with hindsight, because experience is the best teacher. From the informational books that I’ve read, I’ve learned how to get better, how to study and how to get the best out of my education. I’ve also learned to un-limit my learning, to benefit from the kind souls who love to fill kids with knowledge- these intelligent beings we call teachers.

I’ve learned to be more patient especially because of that one light that practically never turns green. I’ve learned the value of listening and renewed my understanding of friendship. I’ve come to realize the importance of extra curriculars, not for college purposes but as a distraction and a break from the rapid current of daily life.

But most importantly, I’ve learned that there are people out there who care about what I have to say. To you all, thank you. Because to a student like me, confidence is everything. And this year, I gained a lot of it. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Bises,
Tara

3 thoughts on “3, 2, 1…..

  1. Beautiful, Tara. Truly.

    I cannot wait to see what the summer holds for you…learning outside of school often inspires us more. I cannot wait to see what another two, three, five, ten years hold for you as well. Life’s about the journey, right?! 🙂

  2. Pingback: 2012 Favorites « Life's about the Journey

Leave a Reply

