My Year in Quick Review: 2012

This has been a big year for me, to say the least. A lot of who I am at this moment in the space time continuum has been molded by what I’ve accomplished and experienced in this year alone.

I’ve started writing more: first for the Cooperative Catalyst then Huffington Post (Teen) and Stuvoice. I’ve also become much more involved in the education community, thanks to the emergence of a larger student voice movement. Thanks to that alone, my circle of like minded individuals has expanded, and I’m proud to call some well known fellow students my friends. It’s hard for me to imagine a time where I didn’t have chats on stuvoice and education every week, which is awesome. I’m proud to say that I’ve made my voice heard this year, through the aforementioned publications, my very first interview, talks with my principal and video conferences through HuffPostLive as well as other means.

A part from the education sphere, I made my way to China this summer, which was an eye-opener in of itself. I grew so much as a person and experienced a whole new kind of world. From the friends I made, to the lessons I learned, it’s definitely an experience I will never forget.

And from China, I entered my sophomore year. As the girls dean enlightened us, sophomore means “wise-fool” and is often characterized as a “buffer” year. For me so far, it’s been anything but the slow ride I imagined. I joined girls cross country, ran a half marathon, hosted and participated in a listening session, am taking AP Chem, was a part of a team to recreate my school’s schedule, hosted an exchange student from France and published three issues (and counting) of my school’s paper, as an editor.

It was my goal to reach a total of 100 posts on this blog by the end of this year and I’m proud to say I accomplished that. What’s more, my work on other sites as gotten many hits. My piece “Homework: Help or Hassle?” was the most viewed piece on the Cooperative Catalyst this year, and my first ever post for them, “Caution: Work in Progress,” was the 3rd most viewed. Thank you so much to everyone who reads my work here and on other sites- it means the world to me. 🙂

Here’s to 2013 and all that it may bring. I’m looking forward to more writing, more running and hopefully, more travelling. And as always, I’m savoring the journey, every step of the way. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

