Running Through Time

One week. That’s how much time stands between me and two weeks of vacation. Exciting.

But on the other hand, that’s seven days until I’m ¾ of the way through my year abroad. Terrifying.

It’s crazy how the same stretch of time can have two such different connotations. As the time continues to fly by, people have begun talking about how close we are to the end. Honestly, the “there are less than 100 days left” conversations have snuck up on me. Despite all the ups and downs, the good weeks and the slow weeks, life at SYA has been chugging along in a comfortable routine for some time now. Even though I mark the passing of each week, it still shocks me to think that after this upcoming break, there’ll be only two months left.

This Sunday, I ran in my first road race in France. Meandering through a commune just outside the city limits with a friend and a hundred or so other women provided a great end to a week full of reflection. This race reminded me that, like I’ve said countless times, it’s not just the destination, but also the journey that matters. Yes, time is slipping away but I’m confident my classmates and I are going to make the most of why we have left, starting with our upcoming class trip to Paris. We’ve run a great race so far and we’re gearing up to finish strong. But it doesn’t matter when we finish, rather, it’s the way we finish and the route we’ve taken that we’ll remember.

Forgot how much I love racing

Forgot how much I love racing

Molten Chocolate Lava Cakes (my host sister and my creation)

Molten Chocolate Lava Cakes (my host sister and my creation)

Someone at SYA got Girl Scout Cookies

Someone at SYA got Girl Scout Cookies. This is not a drill. (thank you cookie gods)

The blue skies streak returns!

The blue skies streak returns!

Leave a Reply

