2014 in review: August is the new January 

I can’t be the only one. For me, the new year started in August. Maybe that’s why I couldn’t write the customary year in review piece before January 1, 2015. Not to mention, trying to capture my 2014 is like taking the ending of one book and mashing it with the beginning of another. So much happened within the past year, but to only analyze just from January to December leaves out all the backstory. Yet, it’s an interesting mixture of who I am, almost a cross section of the multiple entities I swear inhabit my body. For, in 2014 I was French and Chinese and Indian and American… loud and sassy and a social media junkie and a bookworm… All at once.
Regardless of the jumble encompassed therein, without further ado, ladies and gentlemen of the Internet, I present to you, my year in review (aka my life, in media res).
January: Commemorated 17 with pizza, friends, How I Met Your Mother, and Cards Against Humanity in a basement lit only by our tiny glowing phone screens.
February: Debated ways to improve access to technology and the utility of GMOs in English, at ILYMUN with international strangers. Fell back in love with intellectual arguments and the idea of so many motivated, aware humans congregating together.
156973_611610445559337_1245146215_n
March: In Paris and Strasbourg, found out that maybe good things can happen after 2am; in Berlin, experienced the terror of being in a foreign country without speaking the language, and developed a love hate relationship with bikes.
1617490_528979067219367_887761549_o
April: Spent a day shadowing journalists at Ouest France, the most widely read daily French paper.
May: Capitol-hopped across Europe,  graduated from a Victorian school house and slept on too many buses.
FullSizeRender
June: Interned at Printpack, embraced the 9-5 grind, attended ISTE and was adopted into the Dell YIA family.
Screen Shot 2015-01-10 at 9.30.13 PM
July: Went to Chicago for EFL and was touched at how similar and close I was to people I hadn’t known a week before.
photo (3)
August: Fangirled hard at the One Republic concert.
FullSizeRender-1
September: Attended (and helped organize) Student Voice Live! and saw Stromae in concert with S.B.
SVL team love
October: Burrowed into college apps and ran my last 5k for my school.
Screen Shot 2015-01-10 at 9.31.32 PM
November: Had Friendsgiving with A.N and met up with S.V (SYA Reunion of 2), and a slew of others quickly becoming new and good friends who share my liking for ice cream, coffee + Calvin and Hobbes.
IMG_5505
December: Got in to college and participated in my school’s 24 hour relay with some of my best friends since Middle School despite kind of having the plague.
FullSizeRender-2
If I do say so myself, it’s been quite a year. I think it’s taken me some time to see this because for the past few months I’ve had college application tunnel-vision. For those of you who don’t already know, aka haven’t been subjected to the “wonderful” American college application process, the Common App is thenwebsite where you can input all your information to send to most schools and answer any school specific supplements. On the Common App, one of the essay prompts talks about a transition to adulthood. Though this isn’t the prompt I finally chose, I think it could easily have applied to my 2014, the year before I became a legal adult. The beginning of 2014 and the second half of my school year in France was when I resolved to push further out of my comfort zone and try different lifestyles; And the second half of 2014, during my first semester of senior year, I got a glimpse of what it was like to juggle an adult life and strive for that balance between work and fun (family + friends). Who I am grew, and shifted and expanded and morphed, and I realized, I might always be a work in progress… And that’s ok.
Leave a Reply

